Little Land Girl

landgirl

If you’re a history buff, I have two TV shows to recommend to you today: the documentary series Wartime Farm and the ITV drama Home Fires. Both tell the story of the British home front during World War II. Wartime Farm sends three historians to work and live on a 1940s era farm for a year using period technology, while Home Fires shows the wartime efforts of the Women’s Institute. Both really wonderful, and both really good motivators for a day of cooking and cleaning.

Anyway, long story short, I got inspired to design a land girl taking a break after a long day’s work. Enjoy!

Little Land Girl

10 thoughts on “Little Land Girl

  1. In the early 2000s there was a British historical reality TV show called The 1940s House. I don’t know how long it aired, but I caught a few episodes, and I thought it was fascinating. Then again, I’ve always believed I was born out of my proper time, that I should have been in my prime in the ’40s (my grandparents’ era) or in the late 1800s (my great grandparents’ era). Oh well…

    As for feeling nostalgia for a time you’ve never known: According to The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows, that’s Anemoia. If you haven’t seen their short video on it, you ought to check it out: Anemoia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve seen a few of the “House” series and really enjoyed them, especially “Edwardian Manor House.” I’ll have to check out the 1940s one, and Anemoia as well. Thanks for the recommendations!

      Like

Leave a Reply

